Newby

Questions or comments about hiking in general? Post them here!
HawkerHiker

Newby

Post by HawkerHiker » Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:02 am

Hello, HawkerHiker here. Just signed into this group. I kept seeing it referred to when I do Google searches about backpacking issues. I have spent most of my life "car camping" with heavyweight gear near our local Kansas reservoirs. Not much backpacking going on in this state. My kids are getting older and/or already on their own, and the ones left at home (as well as their mother) are no longer interested in camping. But, Dad is still interested and decided to scale down and try backpacking. I am very new to the sport, but very interested in it. I also love to ride my Honda ST1100 sport touring motorcycle and hope to do some motorcycle camping too as it will often take the same kind of lightweight, compact gear. I am hoping to learn from the rest of you. My bucket list includes doing some thru-hiking on some major trails. So far, I have only done one "thru-hike" if you can call it that. I did the Elk River Trail in southeast Kansas. It is only 15 miles long though, but a very challenging trail nonetheless where the average hiking speed is about 1.1 mph due to the constant ups and downs and other rugged terrain. From that one experience, I figured I needed to lighten up the load considerably. But, every professional started as an amateur! ;)

zelph

Re: Newby

Post by zelph » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:01 am

Glad to have you here. We're all interested in lowering our gear loads so we can take more food :mrgreen: I'm still trying to get used to hanging in a hammock. I'm having issues with my bridge hammock being too tight in the shoulder area. Got an idea how to resolve that which will require making my own version.

We sure have accumilated a lot of useful information here. Lots of reading to do. Ask questions, we'll hunt down the answers for you. Touring by motorcycle, nice way to get out into the piney woods.