Welcome to bpLite. Introduce yourself, give a little hello and WELCOME.
BrokenAeroVT

Postby BrokenAeroVT » Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:32 pm

Hi. I'm Tim, AKA BrokenAeroVT from YouTube.

I'm a seasoned hiker who is getting into ultralight backpacking. I have a BS in Aerospace and Ocean Engineering from Va Tech.

While my background is in engineering, I've never contemplated stove building before, so the more I can apply what I understand to ultralight backpacking stoves, the more videos I will put out. I have 4 videos about stove design. Hope you will take a look.

Right now I have two possibly three stove designs I'm seriously contemplating building. I'm just working out some of the kinks. One problem was making them too powerful. Boil time is limited by a phenomenon called the Leidenfrost Effect.

I shared this knowledge with Jason who promptly called Tinny about it. Tinny immediately made a recent video poo pooing such a limit without mentioning any specifics. :roll: I don't know where he is drawing his confidence from.

Problem is, when heat is applied too quickly to a pot, bubbles form that insulate the water from the heat. The pot overheats and the water never boils. You know what happens to an overheated Heiny.

I've run into this phenomenon at 50-60 second "boil times" (two cups of water). No matter how much fuel I add to the stove, the water just will not boil. I haven't gotten a tight fix on the limit, but I suspect it is in the ball park of to 60-90 seconds.

I contemplated overcoming this limit with a pressure cooker, then bubbles won't form at the usual boiling point of 100C since the boiling point will change to a higher temperature. You reach 100C then stop. But that would be kind of heavy to carry on the trail, wouldn't it? ;)

The other idea would be to just stir the water with a brush to displace the bubbles. Kind of makes life a little complicated, doesn't it?