Hello from Texas !!

Welcome to bpLite. Introduce yourself, give a little hello and WELCOME.
sharkbait

Hello from Texas !!

Postby sharkbait » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:04 pm

My name is Darrell Morgan and I live in central Texas. I'm a newbie at this, but have been reading alot about backpacking, hiking, etc. at this and other sites. My parents took us kids camping, but that was a LONG time ago. I bought a White Box stove for my first, and a Trangia just after that. Plan on experimenting with both, and making my own "set-up" when I figure out what works best for me and my wife. Any suggestions and advice on the stoves, cookware, DIY gear, etc. are greatly appreciated, and am looking to make this a lifelong sport / hobby. I've already started looking for some Heineken cans, but not having any luck. Can anyone tell me where I might get a couple of them?
Best regards to all and Happy Hiking!! :)

Allen

Re: Hello from Texas !!

Postby Allen » Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:03 pm

Hi Darrell!
Welcome to the forum :)
I get My 24 oz Heineken Cans from Krogers. Have You checked them? Any Store near a college campass
would be a good bet.

Cheers!

DaddyMnM

Postby DaddyMnM » Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:43 pm

Hello Darrell,

Not sure how the liquor laws are in your part of the world, but here in Seattle all the major grocery stores. such as Safeway, sell the Heinekin Keg in the 24 oz size for about $2.50. If you are in a dry county where beer is limited to 4%, or not available in grocery stores, you may have to drive to another to find it. You may try calling a local distributer to see if they can tell you where.

Take a look around this blog and you should find many good ideas. Feel free to chime in and add your own unique insights as well.

Welcome!

Ridgerunner

Postby Ridgerunner » Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:36 am

Welcome aboard, Darrell.